Friday, July 7, 2017

Shuffle Repeat by Jen Klein Book Review

26067503
BLURB
When Harry Met Sally for YA romance readers. This opposites-attract love story is perfect for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Stephanie Perkins, and Jenny Han.
 
June wants high school to end and real life to begin. Oliver is soaking up senior year’s glory days. They could have coasted through high school, knowing about—but not really knowing—each other.
 
Except that their moms have arranged for Oliver to drive June to school. Every. Single. Day.
 
Suddenly these two opposites are fighting about music, life . . . pretty much everything. But love is unpredictable. When promises—and hearts—get broken, Oliver and June must figure out what really matters. And then fight for it.

REVIEW
THREE OUT OF FIVE STARS
June was hard to like, I have to admit--I thought her character would be the reason I would drop this book. She was pretty judgmental, stand-offish, and just all around hard to like. Then in stepped, Oliver.

Oliver is the jock. He has a lot of friends. He's well liked. He's dating the most popular, and beautiful girl at school. And although he's roped into driving June to school everyday--he doesn't make it seem like a burden--although June reminds him--that it is. 

They've in fact been friends for years, due to the fact that their Moms are best friends--but they travel in different circles, obviously.

But the two of them work, through music, and humorous competition, they work. 

This is definitely one of those books where you have to exercise a lot of patience--because you're not going to get to the meat of it, until the later half of the novel--but oddly enough, I was okay with that. 

There were a lot of little pieces that needed to come together--to make June's and Oliver's story--more significant, more dramatic. While some readers might find these things trivial--I believe without it there wouldn't have been much of a "story." 

Aside from that, this is a feel-good cute summer-ish read. It involves old music, old cars, and a romance that was unexpected. 

I believe readers will be pretty pleased with this one--even if you have reservations about whether or not you'll like June--Oliver will make it worth it.


8 comments:

  1. Looks like I'd need to exercise some patience if I want to read this book and I do! Thanks for the review <3

    ReplyDelete
  2. You had me at When Harry Met Sally for YA romance readers. I mean, come on, with a tag line like that... I have to give it a try. June sounds a little trying but Oliver makes it sound worth trying. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. This one has been on my TBR for quite a while, and I do find that I am a patient reader, especially if the payoff is a cute, feel-good read.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I am always drawn to this one because I like the cover. I would be annoyed that it takes so long to get to the meat of the story. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oh this one does sound like a good summer read. I also love it when little pieces come together. I also think it makes a story better.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great blog!

    I followed your blog, and I would sincerely appreciate it if you checked out my book reviews blog at https://elsbookreviews.blogspot.ca/ and possibly give it a follow as well! Excited to read more of your posts!

    - El

    ReplyDelete
  7. Sounds like a cute summer read. Glad that you warmed up to June since she wasn't particularly likable at first.

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    ReplyDelete
  8. I haven't been on your blog in forever, Jazmen! You had me at 'When Harry Met Sally YA version', lol. This sounds really cute but June sounds like a whole lot of work. Although I'm glad you warmed up to her character and finished till the end. Great review!

    Blessie @ Mischievous Reads

    ReplyDelete